Game name: Gyruss

Manufacturer: Konami

Distributors: Konami / Centuri

Year of development: 1983

Category: Shoot'em up

Hardware Platform Info:

  • Main CPU: Uses two Z80 microprocessors: a 6809 and an 8039
  • Sound: five AY-3-8910 PSG microphones and one DAC

Main developer: Yoshiki Okamoto

Music composer: Mashahiro Inoue


History of development:

Gyruss is a shoot 'em up created by Konami in 1983. It was designed by Yoshiki Okamoto, former creator of the famous Time Pilot. The game was licensed by Centuri in the United States and was ported to numerous consoles and home computers.

Gyruss was the second and final game designed by Yoshiki Okamoto at Konami. Due to internal disputes, he was fired right after the release of this game and ended up in another big company like Capcom. There he participated as a designer, producer, director or executive producer in numerous famous games such as 1942, Final Fight, Street Fighter II, Pang, 1943, U.N. Squadron, Willow, Three Wonders, several Megaman, the first Resident Evil, and many Capcom 2D fighting games.

General description of the game:

The game is a sort of mix between Galaga and Tempest. The Solar System is being invaded by a kind of alien worms. The goal is to free each of the planets that make up the Solar System until it reaches Earth. After releasing each planet a bonus level appears that reminds a lot of that of Galaga. From time to time some asteroids appear in your path, which you must avoid, since they cannot be destroyed. The first life is given to you at 50,000 points and then every 70,000. It is vital to get the double shot as soon as possible to increase the chances of survival.


The game's background music is an electronic and accelerated arrangement of J. S. Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565, performed by UK rock group Sky. Also noteworthy is the remarkable music of the Gyruss for making use of stereo sound.